Articles

Triumphant return!

In brief updates on March 7, 2011 by ultimatelibrarian Tagged: ,

What could be a more auspicious rebirth for The (Ultimate) Librarian than my first day of work in my first professional role?  I think it’s pretty triumphant, anyway.  I’ve updated the look, refreshed my background story, and now it’s time for my first post in 4 years.  Although I’ve blogged elsewhere, for the Medical Libraries Association Annual Conference, the Midwest Chapter of MLA, and even on my very own wedding blog as I attempted to document my journey as a “green bride,” it feels damn good to be back home.

But I’m a tease.  I’m exhausted, I’ve only had the first of many days of new job orientation and don’t really know what I’ll be doing, and I just moved to a new city without my husband or cats where I’m renting a room that I have to access by ladder (okay, it’s actually really cool).  So this post is not much more than a promise to myself and to you to make this space into something more than it has been, and in the very near future.  Stay tuned for actual medical librarian content!

I can’t just leave it at that, though…So I’ll share my new organization’s values.  Because the people I met today have created a place that really embodies them, a place where I’m more than a little excited to be working.  Without further ado:

  • I believe every patient deserves the best care.
  • I believe in responsibly managing resources.
  • I believe in accountability, teamwork, and respect.

The first person was suggested at orientation, so that we all (from the very first day) understand that we are each responsible for making sure the values are upheld.  And yeah, that’s something I can definitely believe in.  And they are obviously applicable to my new role!  How do you feel about your institution’s values?

5 Responses to “Triumphant return!”

  1. As medical librarian, do you get to read many books on medicine?

    • Good question. 🙂 & Thanks for reading my post! To respond simply: not really. I search databases and find the information that clinicians, students, and patients need, and occasionally skim it in order to summarize or synthesize, but not necessarily understanding or remembering the content. And most medical literature is in journal articles, anyway, unless it’s textbooks. I should probably read some of those, but my own skill set is not clinical itself; I’m just an (aspiring, at this early point) expert in how to find, provide, and organize the information needed in medical settings (and in teaching others these skills). Because of my own personal interest I do try to read books that come from the medical field, like Atul Gawande’s and others.

      Do you have suggestions for “medical books” to read? What inspired you to ask this particular question? Most people just want to know what a medical librarian does. 🙂

      And finally, I saw from your blog that you’re interested in the medical field (and math! I was a math major in college, but the skills I have that I like the most took me in a different direction); that’s great! I wish you the best of luck in everything!

  2. Many!
    As for medical textbooks, “Goldman’s Cecil Medicine” is a classic textbook. The same goes for Grey’s Anatomy and Physiology.

    In terms of journals, Journal of Neuroscience, Neurology (from American Academy of Neurology), Journal of Molecular Medicine, and many more.

    In terms of perhaps a bit lighter (but still medical) medical literature,
    1. A Brief Tour of Human Consciousness: From Impostor Poodles to Purple Numbers – By Dr. V.S Ramachandran
    2. Algorithms on Strings, Trees, and Sequences : Computer Science and Computational Biology – Dan Gusfield
    3. Markov Chain Monte Carlo in Practice – WR Gilks, S Richardson, DJ Spiegelhalter
    4. Neuroanatomy: An Atlas of Structures, Sections, and Systems – Duane E. Haines
    5. In Search of Memory: The Emergence of a New Science of Mind – Dr. Eric R. Kandel
    6. Theoretical Neuroscience: Computational and Mathematical Modeling of Neural Systems – Peter Dayan

    And many more! It is exciting that you get to gave direct contact with great medical literature. I’m always happy to read medicine-related textbooks and books, so the prospect of being in a library filled with such books for even a moment is very exhilarating. Thus, I was inspired to ask this question.

    Yes, I’m very interested in medicine (and mathematics too!). I like both subjects and the prospect of combining them seems excellent as well.

    Thank you!

    • Thanks! I’ll admit, I’m a little relieved to see that your textbooks and journals are ones I am familiar with; I’m at least on the right track. Generally I stay more on top of internal medicine/general practice rather than specialty/more research journals, like the NEJM and JAMA. But that depends completely on where and who a medical librarian has to support: I’m starting in a smaller community hospital, so I know I also need to be more on top of orthopedics and neo-natal care, for example, because of what this hospital does.

      Your comment on direct contact is interesting, and I’m sure it’s something I’ll be blogging about. I’m not sure yet how much of a physical collection I’ll have (I have yet to actually see my space, that’s tomorrow!), but I know it will be very small. Most of my space will be used for computers. Electronic access to the parts of the literature needed at that exact moment is becoming the norm. But maybe the physical aspect wasn’t what you were talking about. If you’re like me, you just like having that information accessible, regardless of form! And whether that’s a good or bad thing is much debated; it’s certainly a change. But it’s one I’m excited about, since it’s what I’ve grown up with. But wherever you end up, I hope you will have access to a library and a librarian and that you’ll use them when you need them!

      • Yes, I agree. As you said, Ma’am, I like having the information accessible, regardless of form. And it certainly is a change!

        Being a medical student will make medical libraries a second home.
        Thank you!

Leave a Reply

